HSLI Newsletter

Serving Illinois Health Information Professionals

Call for Nominations: Illinois Academic Librarian of the Year Award (Deadline May 15)

(via the Illinois Library Association)

Nominations are now open for the 2020 Illinois Academic Librarian of the Year Award, sponsored by the Illinois Association of College & Research Libraries (IACRL) Forum and Library Juice Academy. Established in 1985, this award recognizes an Illinois librarian who is making an outstanding statewide contribution to academic or research librarianship and to library development. The recipient must be a personal ILA member or be employed at an institution that is an ILA member. The person must have earned distinction through notable service to the Forum and to the Illinois Library Association, in addition to having exhibited leadership and exemplary library service in an academic setting.

To assure equitability of representation of awardees among the various types of academic libraries and constituencies represented in the Forum’s membership, the ILA Awards Committee will give consideration, on a revolving basis, to these factors in the selection process. Individuals nominated should have demonstrated achievements in such areas as:

  • service to the organized profession through ILA, the IACRL Forum, and related organizations;
  • significant and influential academic or research library service;
  • contributions to academic or research library development through research or publications; or
  • planning or implementing a library program of exemplary quality.

Nominees do not have to meet all the above criteria.

The Illinois Library Association will present the Award at its Annual Conference (October 20-22 in Springfield). The awardee will receive a certificate, along with a financial award totaling $500. Please note that monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the Award is presented.

The deadline for submitting a nomination is Friday, May 15, 2020. The nominator’s statement of support should address all criteria under the individual awards as outlined. The nominator must submit the nomination form and attach all support statements, letters, and documentation, etc., required by the Award’s criteria. Self-nominations are welcome.

More information on the Award is available here. The link to submit a nomination is here. Not sure how to get started with your nomination? Click here to download Award nomination guidelines and requirements.

If you have any questions, please contact Eric Edwards, IACRL Past President and Awards Committee Chair, at eedwards@ilsos.gov.

Leave a Reply