HSLI Newsletter

Serving Illinois Health Information Professionals

Call for Nominations: Freedom to Read Foundation Board of Trustees (Deadline January 21)

(via Robert Holley, Wayne State University)

Nominations Open for 2019 Freedom to Read Foundation Board of Trustee Elections
The Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) Nominations Committee is seeking nominations, including self-nominations, for six vacant trustee positions.  The nomination deadline is January 21, 2019.  The Board of Trustees is comprised of 15 members, which include eleven (11) elected trustees and four (4) Ex-Officio trustees.
A brief description of responsibilities and minimum requirements for the vacant positions is provided below:
A candidate must be a current FTRF member in good standing.

If elected, the willingness and ability to attend regularly-scheduled meetings (in-person and conference calls) as needed.

Attendance at the 2019 and 2020 ALA Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings.
Elected trustees are expected to make an annual donation of $500 in support of the foundation.

The donation can be a personal donation or the trustee may raise the funds via a fundraiser, or by soliciting donations or recruiting new members. .

A trustee serves a term of two years and may run for re-election to a second term of two years. There is a term limit of two consecutive terms, and a trustee must step down for a period of one year before becoming a candidate for trustee again.
Nominations for trustee positions, including self-nominations, should be sent by January 21, 2019 to: Freedom to Read Foundation, Attn: Nomination Committee, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611. In addition, nominations may be emailed to ftrf@ala.org.  The Nominating Committee will select 12-18 candidates to appear on the election ballot.  The members of the FTRF Nominating Committee are: Robert P. Holley, Charles Brownstein, Val Nye, and Katie Kritikos.
Nominations by petition:
FTRF members may also be certified for candidacy by petition<http://www.ala.org/groups/files/affiliates/relatedgroups/freedomtoreadfoundation/ftrfinaction/elections/petitionnominationballot.doc> by submitting 25 signatures of current FTRF members in support of the candidate. The executive director of the Foundation must receive names of petition candidates and the required signatures to support no later than January 21, 2019.
Only current FTRF members<https://www.ftrf.org/?Membership> are eligible to seek election to the board.  To become a member, click here<https://www.ftrf.org/general/register_member_type.asp?>. To check your membership status, log in<https://www.ftrf.org/login.aspx> or contact FTRF at ftrf@ala.org or (312) 280-4226.
Please submit nominations as indicated above. If you have any questions, please contact Robert Holley, chair of the Nominations Committee, at aa3805@wayne.edu or Yumeka Brown at ybrown@ala.org or +1.312.280-4223.

Thank you in advance for your nominations.

Best Regards,

Robert P. Holley                                                            Deborah Caldwell-Stone
Chair, Nominations Committee                           Interim Director and Secretary, FTRF

Leave a Reply