HSLI Annual Conference

2022 Conference is In Person!

 

 

September 7-9 at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center in Utica, IL

Health Science Librarians of Illinois (HSLI) is proud to announce that we will be hosting our annual conference at Starved Rock State Park in 2022. The Conference is scheduled for Wednesday, September 7 - Friday, September 9, at the Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center in Utica, IL. Join us for a unique and beautiful meeting experience while networking with your colleagues or gaining continuing-education credits. We are working hard to make this Conference an event that everyone will enjoy and remember. The final format for the Conference is still to be determined based on COVID-19 levels.

Conference News

Call for Student Volunteers at Health Science Librarians of Illinois 2022 Annual Conference (Currently in Person at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center in Oglesby, IL, from Wed., Sept. 7, to Fri., Sept. 9)–Deadline Fri., May 6

April 12th, 2022 by

(via Emily Johnson-Barlow, UIC Library of the Health Sciences – Peoria)​

The Health Science Librarians of Illinois (HSLI) Annual Conference Planning Committee would like to invite library students to attend the organization’s Annual Conference this fall. It is currently scheduled to take place in person at the Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center in Oglesby, IL, from Wednesday, September 7, to Friday, September 9. More information is available at our Conference sitePlease note that the Conference Planning Committee will make a final decision on whether the Conference will have an in-person or a virtual format by Wednesday, June 1, based on COVID-19 levels.

We would also encourage students to consider volunteering at the Conference. We are currently seeking volunteers to help with registration, take photos of events, take down displays, and be a communication runner between sessions. In return for their assistance, students will receive a waiver for the Conference registration fee, an annual membership to HSLI, and the chance to add this to their professional resume. To apply, students need to fill out this application and attach their resume to the form.

Applications are due Friday, May 6. Applicants will be informed of the decision by Friday, May 13. If lodging funding is needed, students can apply for the Syed Maghrabi Conference Scholarship.

Should you have any questions about our Annual Conference, the HSLI organization, or the student volunteer opportunity, please contact Emily Johnson-Barlow (emj11@uic.edu) or explore the HSLI website. For information on the Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center’s ADA accessibility, please go here​.

Save the Date: Health Science Librarians of Illinois 2022 Annual Conference (Currently In-Person September 7-9 at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center in Oglesby, IL)

March 2nd, 2022 by

(via Julie Dietrich, Blessing Health Professions Library)

The Health Science Librarians of Illinois (HSLI) is proud to announce that we will be hosting our annual conference at Starved Rock State Park in 2022. The Conference is scheduled for Wednesday, September 7 – Friday, September 9, at the Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center in Oglesby, IL. Join us for a unique and beautiful meeting experience while networking with your colleagues or gaining continuing-education credits. We are working hard to make this Conference an event that everyone will enjoy and remember. The final format for the Conference is still to be determined based on COVID-19 levels. For more information as it becomes available, take a look at the Conference website or the Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center website. The Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center is ADA accessible.

Syed Maghrabi Scholarship Application

Application materials will be posted 2 months before the conference

Syed Maghrabi Conference Scholarship winners will receive funds to cover registration fees, and other expenses.

Applicants must be current members of HSLI (2022 dues paid). Applicants must write a short essay entitled, "I would like a Syed Maghrabi Conference Scholarship because..." Scholarship recipients must write an article for the HSLI Newsletter discussing the plan to implement knowledge gained at the conference in their institutions.

Conference Committee

Chair Cynthia Reynolds

Continuing Education
Frances Drone-Silvers – frances.drone-silvers@carle.com
Erin Kerby –  ekerb@illinois.edu
Peggy Carey – pcarey@nuhs.edu

Exhibitors
Eric Edwards – EEdwards@ILSOS.GOV
Peg Burnette – phburn@illinois.edu

Finance
Laura Wimmer – Laura.Wimmer@AMITAhealth.org

Posters/Lightning talks 
Jonna Peterson – jpeterson2@luc.edu
Lesley Wolfgang – lesley.wolfgang@hshs.org

Program
Linda Feinberg – LFeinberg@northshore.org

Publicity
Eric Edwards – EEdwards@ILSOS.GOV
Julie Dietrich – jdietrich@brcn.edu 

Reception
Miranda Shake – mshake@lakeviewcol.edu
Sarah Isaacs – isaacs@illinois.edu

Registration
Pat Genardo – pgenardo@nuhs.edu
Cynthia Reynolds – cmreynol@uic.edu

Silent auction
Sarah Isaacs – isaacs@illinois.edu
Cynthia Snyder – csnyde@midwestern.edu

Speakers
Deborah Lauseng – dlauseng@uic.edu
Michelle Nielsen Ott – mnielsenott@fsmail.bradley.edu

Student workers  
Emily Johnson-Barlow – emj@uic.edu

Website
Stacey Knight-Davis – slknight@eiu.edu

NNLM Region 6
Jacqueline Leskovec – jacqueline-leskovec@uiowa.edu

Activities/Events
Ramune Kubilius – r-kubilius@northwestern.edu
Linda Feinberg – LFeinberg@northshore.org