Health Science Librarians of Ilinois

HSLI Newsletter

Serving Illinois Health Information Professionals

Reminder: Nominations for ACRL Instruction Section’s Innovation Award and Ilene F. Rockman Publication of the Year Award Due Friday, 12/7

(via Dr. Clarence Maybee, Purdue University)

The ACRL Instruction Section Awards Committee is seeking nominations for its awards.

Innovation Award

Do you know of, or were you involved in, a project at an academic/research library that demonstrates creative, innovative, or unique approaches to information literacy instruction or programming? Now’s your chance to boast about it to the world!  Past awards have recognized well-known programs and initiatives such as the WASSAIL Information Literacy Assessment Project, the Guide on the Side software, the New Literacies Alliance project, and the 23 Framework Things.

Read an interview with the 23 Framework Things team, the 2018 Innovation Award winner. More information about the Innovation Award and the nominating process can be found at  Award recipients receive a $3,000 prize sponsored by EBSCO Information Services.

Nominations are due Friday, December 7. Please email nomination packets to the IS Awards Vice-Chair, Clarence Maybee at

Ilene F. Rockman Publication of the Year Award
Did you write, or do you know someone who wrote an outstanding publication related to instruction in a library environment published in the preceding two years? This is your chance to let us know about it! Eligible publications include journal articles, books, book chapters, and published proceedings. Submitted publications may be authored by one or more individuals, a group, organization, or committee.

Read an interview with Jennifer Nutefall, the 2018 Rockman recipient.  More information about the Ilene F. Rockman Instruction Publication of the Year Award and the nominating process can be found at  The winner(s) of this award will receive a plaque and a $1000 prize sponsored by Carrick Enterprises.

Nominations are due Friday, December 7.  Please send your questions and submissions to the IS Awards Chair, Jo Angela Oehrli at

Leave a Reply