Health Science Librarians of Ilinois

HSLI Newsletter


Serving Illinois Health Information Professionals

February 21 NNLM Webinar on Decolonizing Data (Registration Encouraged But Not Required)

(via Carolyn Martin, National Network of Libraries of Medicine – Pacific Northwest Region)

When: Wednesday, February 21, 1:00pm PT, Noon Alaska time, 2:00pm MT, 3:00pm CT, 4:00pm ET (please note your time zone)

PNR Rendezvous webinar session: “Hope from Our Grandmothers: Decolonizing Data through Stories of Resilience”

Much research has been historically rooted in controlling American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) and other indigenous peoples to exploit land and natural resources, or even heredity and group identity. Yet, AI/AN community ties, tribal sovereignty rights and claims, and cultural values are emerging as critical elements of resiliency key to reversing the very health and social issues that have plagued indigenous populations as a whole since the dawn of colonization. The practice of research and utilizing information collected by means of observation, hypothesis-testing, repetition of experiment and sound conclusions to inform decision-making, have been integral to indigenous survival and wellbeing for centuries. This webinar will review some of the modern scientific values in comparison to AI/AN ways of knowing and provide examples of indigenous research concepts as they align with decolonizing data.

Presenter: Rose James, PhD (Lummi), Director of Evaluation and Research for the Urban Indian Health Institute<http://www.uihi.org/>

How to connect: Registration is encouraged but not required. Register and learn how to connect at https://nnlm.gov/class/hope-our-grandmothers-decolonizing-data-through-stories-resilience/8148

1 Medical Library Association (MLA) Continuing Education credit is available.

Recording will be posted a few days later at https://nnlm.gov/classes/pnr-rendezvous, scroll down to Past Classes

Hope you can join us on what is sure to be an informative session!

Leave a Reply