HSLI Newsletter

Serving Illinois Health Information Professionals

Applicants Sought for $1,000 NMRT Shirley Olofson Memorial Award

(via Lindsay Harmon, incoming IACRL Vice-President/President-Elect)

The NMRT (ALA New Members Round Table) Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Committee is seeking applicants for a $1,000 award, intended to defray the costs of attending the ALA Annual Conference. Shirley Olofson was a well-respected NMRT President who died during her term of office. After her death, the NMRT Executive Board decided to authorize the establishment of an award to honor her memory. The award is given to current or potential NMRT members who have attended no more than five American Library Association Annual Conferences.

Applicants must also be members of ALA and NMRT, participate actively in the library profession, show promise or activity in the area of professional development, and have a valid financial need.

Those interested in the award may submit an application online at this webpage: http://www.ala.org/nmrt/initiatives/applyforfunds/shirleyolofson

The due date for applications is December 14th, 2015. The chosen recipient will be notified in late January or early February. Please direct all questions to Jennifer Stout, at jastout@vcu.edu.

Leave a Reply